The best music

The best music in the world makes you think, laugh, smile.  A few years ago I got a set of cds that had my name written all over it.  It had songs from Bing Crosby, Judy Garland, Ella Fitzgerald, The Drifters, Cole Porter, etc.  I think I was born in the wrong era.  They’re songs that are from the time period I absolutely love in film with all of the musicals.  I love the sound of the music, the lyrics, the arrangements, instrumentation (is this a word?  it is now.), all of it.

I was listening to my favorite disc of the four on the way up here.  Some of the stuff from back then is just plain amazing, some of it funny, and some of it…I just don’t get it, but it makes me laugh. 

Here are some highlights:

You’re the Top by Cole Porter – The lyrics just make me laugh.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to be compared to the Coliseum, the Lourve, Gandhi, Mickey Mouse, a sonnet by Shakespeare, a Berlin ballad, the steppes of Russia, and my favorites, the feet of Fred Astaire, broccoli, a hot tamale, turkey dinner, and cell0phane?  Next time I tell someone I appreciate them, they’re getting the utmost respect by being called cellophane.

All Over Nothing at All by Ella Fitzgerald – She has a great voice.

Lullaby of Broadway by Dick Powell

A Couple of Song and Dance Men by Bing Crosby and Fred Astaire – I love this song!  It’s hilarious like a conversation between the two about their respective arts.  The arrangement is so typical of the time period that it makes me love it even more.

Ballin’ the Jack by Danny Kaye – Danny Kaye teaches dance though song.  Hilarious.

Good Timin’ by Jimmy Jones – This song…just makes me laugh.  It sounds like a bird is singing half the time. 

For Me and My Gal by Judy Garland and Gene Kelly – Two of my favorites together!  I was happy when I saw that and heard the song.  Yet again set up like a conversation.  I love it!

Every Beat of My Heart by Gladys Knight and the Pips – Good song, the end notes hurt me a bit though.

Moonlight Bay by Bing and Gary Crosby – Another one set like a conversation.  I love the wit in these songs too.  I can’t say enough about how these songs are arranged either!

Five Guys Named Moe by Louis Jordan – This song just cracks me up.  I looked it up and apparently it was a musical about a band called… Five Guys Named Moe and their names are as follows: Big Moe, Little Moe, Four-Eyed Moe, No Moe, and Eat Moe.  haha.

I’ll Pick a Rose for My Rose by Marv Johnson – Catchy…I can’t help it.

Mad Dogs and Englishmen by Noel Coward – I skip it every time.  Weirdest song ever.

Nice Work If You Can Get It by Teddy Wilson and Billy Holiday and Shoo Shoo Baby by The Andrews Sisters – Fun, typical, catchy stuff from back then.  Again, I can’t help but like them.

Ain’t Misbehavin’ by Tommy Bruce – Basically, I just love the way this guy sings it.

Ok, so yes, we shall conclude I was born in the wrong era.  That or these people need to be brought back to life today.  I am off to Boone.  It is a tad chilly, but I have a feeling the bookstore and I will be quite comfortable together.

One thought on “The best music

  1. Save some books for me when I get there…ask Grandmother about “Anything you can do, I can do better” from Annie Get Your Gun…she and I used to sing that to each other. As far as you loving musicals…well I think that comes from me (I made you watch them because I love them) and I got it from Aunt Mary. I loved it when she used to sing “Oh What A Beautiful Morning” from Oklahoma, to me when she’d wake me up. Love you and have fun at the Bookstore – don’t forget the coffee shop on the hill too ;0)

Leave a Reply

