Texas-sized Tuesday

Here’s the short of it.  I was in Albemarle from 9am-1:30pm only to have to trick my car into passing inspection.  This means we got the check engine light off just long enough to slap a sticker on it.  The issue with the car isn’t anything worth worrying a lot about and isn’t dangerous, so my plan is to start saving up a bit to get something in the next six months or so.  And I say Texas in the title partially because on the news station in the waiting area, everything was happening in Texas that they reported about. 

– A little girl in a van with four teenagers was supposedly given ecstasy and her eyes were rolling back in her head.  The ridiculous part: this was a video the kids put up on the internet!!  Who does that??!!

– A freshman cheerleader’s parents are suing her school because she didn’t make the JV squad.  I just have no comment there.

– A senator from TX is upset that they’re starting dual language programs in some schools down there.  Again, I kind of understand, but I want to beat her down because her reasoning is sooooo spotty.  Dual language means half the day subjects are taught in Spanish and half the day they are taught in English.  I have no problem with it as long as they are making sure kids know the content areas and English well enough to pass exams with high enough scores.  The big assumption they made was that everything taught in Spanish wouldn’t be understood in English.  I guarantee they won’t teach social studies in Spanish all the time.  They will probably do a switch off to reinforce and discuss subjects further.  Perhaps doing social studies and math in Spanish one week and doing it in English the next.  Or doing science and math in English one morning and then another day do them in Spanish in the afternoon.  There is give and take.  End rant.

In other news, once I find out the recovery time and about making payments, I’m probably having my periodontic (yes, I probably made up yet another word) surgery on Monday around noon.  Might as well just get it out of the way.

And I was just reading several impressions (Were the caffeinated like mine?  Who knows?) about the sermon from Sunday.  It was part of the series “Confessions of a Pastor”.  This week’s “confession” was that “Lots of Christians Get on my Nerves”.  In general and as someone who has been in a church her whole life as a pastor’s daughter, I can concur with that statement.  We all get so caught up in our “little churches” and our own issues within our four walls that we tend to look like resident aliens and hypocrites sometimes to the outside world by keeping things to ourselves and only speaking up to bash each other or bash the world.  Can I just point out that the church is NOT four physical walls, but it is people?  I mean, hello… Elevation meets in a high school, during the school year, probably not the most holy of places in some peoples’ eyes, but on Sundays God is all up in that place.  “Where two or three come together in my name, there I am with them.”  And, lest we forget, it isn’t about us and our “little churches”.  It’s about God and those who are lost.  I have to say, that was a good sermon to connect with Elevation’s mission statement.  More Christians need to think about this and why we are here to reach people.

“So that people who are far from God will be filled with life in Christ.”

One thought on “Texas-sized Tuesday

  1. Grandmother says:

    Lindsey, I’m glad to see you’re living life through thick and thin. The car trick sounds like your Grandfather. Keep trucking! Grandmother

Leave a Reply

