More

Mostly due to the blogs of Wade, Phillip, and Pastor Steven I have seen several pictures and heard a semi-detailed summary of what Cricket arena was like yesterday when Elevation and NewBirth united for a Christmas service.  It sounds like it all went incredibly well.  And let me just say, I had no doubts.  I knew Jennica and the whole group working on Sarsaparilla at Christmas would blow the kids away, that Wade and company would rock the joint, that all of the volunteers in all areas would give selflessly of themselves as they always do, that Pastor Steven and Pastor Murphy (of NewBirth) would lay it down from the stage, that lives would be saved, and that my Quest team would hit it out of the park for the young ones.  I have to give a huge shout out and thanks to Erin for everything I knew she did and even all of the things I don’t know about that she did.  I hated not being there to help with the “tragic amount” of 3-5 year olds as Phillip said, but I know the Quest team at Elevation always gets it right, no matter what.  You deserve this time off you’re having this next week, Erin!  Enjoy it! 

And now I demand that everyone else who was there fill me in.  Pictures, calls, anything.  That can be your Christmas present to me.

Reading about all that happened yesterday just reminds me of that verse in Ephesians 3:20 that says, “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,”.  I know God definitely helped the volunteers and staff pull off more than they could ever ask or imagine.  It was HIS power and PRESENCE that was at work through them yesterday.  That is what saved lives, kept their stamina heightened, and made yesterday the incredible experience that it  was.

And as a random side note, my dad preached a sermon yesterday that reminded me of the first sermon of this Presence series at Elevation.  It was about not being able to see the forest for the trees and us not really seeing Jesus for who He is.  Similar to how we might not get past the “baby Jesus” syndrome we all tend to fall into this time of year.  He was just as powerful then as He was when He was in His ministry years.

Merry Christmas, my friends.

Leave a Reply

