Just 5 chapters in…

So this book is pretty much hitting me in my gut where I apparently have needed it so I can get refocused after having been pulled in so many directions lately.  Things ARE slowing down, I just need to slow down and refocus myself this week for my sake so that I can be my best pouring into others at school, church, etc. 

Anyway, I’m only five chapters in and I’ve literally wept because on almost every page something is bouncing of the page at me, speaking to me.  I will admit at first it seemed like it was depressing me more than helping me because I kept finding things that applied to me considering I’m a perfectionist.  However, the further I got into the book, the more I’ve become enlightened and I’ve come to think about certain things in a different light than before…even just a couple of hours ago. 

I’ve actually written abot 8 pages in my pen and paper journal with little things that have stuck out to me.  I thought I’d share some because they can really help us all…

  • God did not create me to be exhausted.
  • Remember the little game from childhood to decide if a boy likes you?  Pick a daisy and pull the petals off saying, “He loves me, he loves me not…”  With God it is completely different….  He loves you, He loves you, He loves you.
  • Spend less time looking around, instead look up.
  • God would never expect me to live a mistake-free life.
  • You can achieve excellence in some areas, but perfection is left to God.
  • Life will always have expectations.  How you respond to them will determine how worn out you become.
  • Trying to do it all leads to mediocrity.
  • How would Jesus’ appointment book look in comparison to yours (if He had one)?  Each day – “To do the will of my Father”
  • Practice responsible procrastination – urgent vs. important
  • Being asked vs. being called to do something
  • A typical day should be full and purposeful, but with time to spare for eternity.
  • The more time you spend using your strength, the less stress you will feel.
  • From Psalm 23: He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me by still waters, He restores my soul.
2 thoughts on “Just 5 chapters in…

Leave a Reply

