Recipe

So, we’ve started the Daniel Fast at Elevation.  It’s going to last 21 days and all of the staff and volunteers have been encouraged to join in on it.  We’re fasting together as we enter the fall season and seeking God as we look to what the fall has to offer and where God would lead us (both as a church and individually – at least that’s part of it for me).  The Daniel fast comes from Daniel 1 and 10 where Daniel goes on a fast in both chapters.  One of those is for 21 days and so we are doing 21 days a well as reading a chapter of John a day.  The book of John is going to be the focus of our upcoming series as well, so it ties in nicely.

The Daniel fast consists in giving up all meats, dairy, caffeine, sugars, salt, breads made with flour, foods with additives and preservatives, etc.  What are you left with?  Fruits, vegetables, 100% fruit/vegetable juices, all kinds of beans, nuts, etc.  So, Monday I went to the store to stalk up and it took a while since I had to really look at ingredients in different foods.  I ended up with a bunch of fruits and vegetables as well as some almonds, natural peanut butter, Ezekiel bread (made without flour), etc. 

I thought I’d share a recipe in case anyone reading my blog is doing the fast as well.  My mom made this one night while I was home from college and it is sooooooooo good and good for you.  It’s mulligatawny soup, made famous on Seinfeld by the Soup Nazi.  The recipe calls for several items that can’t be eaten as a part of the Daniel fast, but I just made it without them (it’s only a couple that don’t really mess with the soup overall).

Mulligatawny Soup

16 c. water

6 c. chicken stock (I used vegetable stock instead – look for stock without salt)

2 potatoes peeled and diced

2 carrots peeled and diced (I cut up baby carrots I had already)

2 celery stalks diced

1/2 eggplant diced

1 medium onion chopped

1 c. frozen yellow corn

2/3 c. roasted red peppers diced (can buy these in jars, but check additives)

1/2 c. tomato sauce (check ingredients)

1/2 c. shelled pistachios

1/2 c. roasted cashews (I just used regular cashews – no salt)

1/2 c. fresh parsley (or 1-2 tablespoons of dried)

1/4 c. lemon juice

1/4 c. butter (omitted since butter isn’t part of the Daniel fast)

3 tbs. sugar (omitted)

1/2 tsp. curry

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. thyme

1 bay leaf

dash of marjoram

dash of nutmeg

Mix all ingredients in a large stock pot over high heat.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 4-5 hours.  The soup should reduce to 1/2 of what you started with.  Stir occasionally and then more frequently toward the end.

It’s good stuff and it’s filling.  I highly recommend it.  Let me know what you think if you make it!

Leave a Reply

