Amalgamating My Thoughts…

What a weekend…

Sunday was insanely awesome.  Church was great.  I got to go back over to Providence to help out in Quest while they did some training with current volunteers.  I was so good to see my Quest-ians again.  How I’ve missed them.  It was awesome to see the kids as well.  I do feel I am where I need to be right now, but I know at some point I will be back there.  After tearing down a bunch of us went out for lunch.  It was just like the good ol’ days with everybody hanging out after church.  I loved it.  I got to hang out with several people I’ve missed and haven’t seen in a while (ie. EB and Jeremy).  That night we had a night of worship for volunteers that was just incredible.  They showed this hilarious interactive video in which we all had glow sticks and all sides of the auditorum essentially made up one gigantic Simon game (you know, the old school light up game you had to replicate?).  The band was great, Pastor Steven shared some wonderful words, and we were able to honor him for Pastor appreciation month.  His words after that cut through me and show what type of guy he is…  He said something along the lines of “My sole purpose and drive is to be here and call out the gift’s God has given each and every one of you and to build you up in Christ.”  I’ve never heard more heartfelt words.

Today I got all of my things ready for the sub I’m having come in on Friday while I’m at a conference.  As I was getting something from the printer in the media center, one of the kindergarten teachers came up to me.  She proceeded to tell me how one of the little girls in her class was writing something they called a “real, true story” and that it was about me.  As she put it, the little girl said that it was about “…the time when Senorita Gallagher was in the classroom stomping her feet because we were beating her in a game.”  I had to laugh.  I love to build up rapport with students in their classrooms and this class in particular is just great.  It was so cute and rather funny that she chose that for her story.  I remember that day though.  I’m glad it sticks out to this little girl as a good, fun memory with her Spanish teacher, especially considering how quiet she is.

In other news, my birthday is at the end of the month!  I’ve been pondering what should be on “the list”.  At this point, it should just as well be a mixed birthday/Christmas list.  This is a work in progress, so it may be added to later on.  So, without further ado…

The List (so far)

  • The NUMBER ONE item on my list for either my birthday or Christmas – TICKETS TO SEE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA IN CHARLOTTE!  If I don’t get it for my birthday, I’ll take it for Christmas!  It runs June 10-July5!!  I missed WICKED when it was in Charlotte in the spring (gah!!!), so this would be nice…
  • I’d also take tickets for RENT when Adam Pascal and Anthony Rapp reprise their Broadway roles.  January 27-February 1
  • Seasons 1 & 2 of Criminal Minds – I recently got into this show.  I watched it once in a blue moon before, but for some reason it’s really caught my attention.
  • As Sure As the Dawn and/or Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers – The first is the last book in the Mark of the Lion series that I’ve mentioned before.  Incredible, incredible books.  The latter is a re-telling of Hosea.
  • A computer?  One that doesn’t repeatedly give me a black screen every few seconds or randomly tell me it’s going to dump it’s physical memory or just plain shut off by itself.  It’s taken perhaps four restarts to get through writing this entry right now.  Gah.
  • Espresso machine – I’d love to be able to make my own lattes and cappucinos again…  The days of Jo-to-Go would return quite quickly I’m sure.
  • Gift cards to Barnes and Noble or Old Navy or anywhere really…  Especially helpful when I can’t think of anything else in particular right now.
One thought on “Amalgamating My Thoughts…

  1. mwelch317 says:

    Hey Lindsey-
    I got the book Redeeming Love last year for Christmas. Awesome book! Another one that hooked me. You’re welcome to borrow it if you’d like. Just let me know and I’ll bring it to church with me.
    Meghan

Leave a Reply

