Do you have a 620K?

We wrapped up the Real Change Campaign series at church today.  Something Pastor Steven said today really hit home with me.  

The economy is really hitting some people hard right now and they are looking for a good place to invest their money.  Some people have IRAs, others have Roth IRAs, others 104Ks and 403bs.  I have a relatively good state retirement plan as a teacher which I have no choice but to contribute to before I get my paychecks.  I can’t remember the exact percentage of my income that it is, but it’s pretty dang good.  Someday I hope to get in on a 403b.  With the recent downturn in things, I know many people who are losing money and it’s painful in some ways.  Most of them are trying to be good stewards of their money and save for the future now instead of later.  

However, while things look so bleak it can seem hard to continue to contribute your money into those stocks, bonds, etc.  The question becomes this: where is the best place to invest?  Got the best answer today…  A 620K.

That’s right, Matthew 6:20.  

20But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.

Treasures in heaven, not on earth.  No matter where you are or what you do, the church is God’s hands, feet, and love to those around us.  It is investing in the lives of others and their salvation.  I, for one would much rather know I invested in eternal savings rather than earthly, materialistic savings.  This idea really hit me because what do we feel right now? Pain with our finances.  Tightening.  What do we need to remember?  It’s not really ours, it’s Gods and it isn’t going with us.  Solution to this dilemma: give to God’s work, His church, and have the knowledge that you are part of something that will have an eternal impact and eternal rewards…  Heavenly savings.
Got my 620K rolling.  How about you?  Where are you storing your treasure?
Leave a Reply

