Of Dictators, Burritos, Gracias-es, and Navidades

Yes, another edition of The Things Kids Say…

I am sponsoring a book club at school this year and with it being an election year, the first book I read and discussed with the kids was The Kid Who Became President.  They really got into it and paid close attention to the election.  One week we were talking about how to become President you have to be at least 35 to run for President.  Of course in the book, Judson Moon is twelve and manages to become President.  So they wanted to talk about what they’d do if they were President.   This one girl in fourth grade is hilarious.  Very smart and polite, but has the potential to be very hilarious particularly at the end of the day.  Anyway, she said she would just kick that President out and move right in.  We talked about transitions of power and she continued to insist that she would just kick the President out and take over.  I told her that sounded like a dictatorship and she asked what that was.  I explained it to her saying that a dictator is someone who takes over a country without caring about the rules and laws.  She laughed and continued on her dictatorship spiel.  It’s gone on for several weeks now…an inside joke now.  The best part is that she makes it personal…  As in one person can “dictate” another.  For example:

  • “I’m going to dictate you.”
  • “Who do you want to dictate?”
  • “You just got dictated.”
  • “Can I dictate?”
  • “I’m still going to dictate.”

We did mock debates and she kept up her charade with being a dictator with silly little things she’d do if she were to “run” for President.

The other kids in the club have caught onto this being a running theme with her and are making jokes about it now.  Here’s what was said today:

  • Q: “What would happen if someone were to break into the school while we were having book club?”
  • A: “____________ would dictate them.”

During one of our little mini debate today, I allowed her to ask the questions to our candidates (the Cake Party and Party Party respectively).  Her bonus question:

  • “If you could pick seven people to dictate, who would they be?”

After her term as moderator was up and we had our other candidates (the Cute ‘n Cuddly party and African party – one of the kids is from Africa) getting ready.  She asked the following question that I found HILARIOUS considering all the lines voters had to stand in this year, etc.

  • “Can I be a victim now?  I mean…a voter?”

That cracked me UP! 

The another funny from the week so far (and it’s only Tuesday) happened with a class yesterday.  I was introducing fruits and we were reviewing colors with them.  I believe I was holding up a plastic banana and asking “De que color es el platano?” (What color is the banana?)  Well, this kid who has an infectious smile was sitting near the front and someone answered “amarillo” (yellow).  A few seconds later I heard him mumbling this under his breath:

  • “Amarillo, I’m a burrito.”

I laughed and said it back to him to make sure I heard him write and he just started laughing and said it again followed by, “It rhymes!”

Also, each week I am greeted or said goodbye to in the same way by one boy in kindergarten who is both equally smart and humorous.  He catches on very well to the Spanish and part of me thinks he does this because he thinks it’s funny.  On the other hand, maybe he still hasn’t grasped the concept or he’s heard me say this word way too much.  At least it’s a polite word though.

Here is what happens when I come into their classroom.  I don’t hear “Hola” or Buenos dias” or “Adios” from him. 

  • When I come into their classroom and say “hola” – “Gracias!” (Thank you)
  • When I leave their classroom and say “adios” – “Gracias!” (ok, that is somewhat appropriate)
  • In the hallway – no hola, but – “Gracias!”
  • By the crosswalk in the morning – “Gracias!”

Most of the time I laugh and respond “De nada” (you’re welcome) and then “Hola” or “Adios” depending on the situation.  At least he’s learning some polite Spanish.  🙂

And of course we are back to learning Feliz Navidad in Spanish since it is most appropriate for this time of year.  I shall soon be hearing again “Feliz Ladeda”, “Feliz Dadeda”, and “Feliz Davida”.  haha.  They will get it…  Eventually.

One thought on “Of Dictators, Burritos, Gracias-es, and Navidades

Leave a Reply

