One for 2010

Christmas details will soon be forthcoming, but for right now, I’m just going to get out the one New Year’s resolution I’m making.  Yep.  Just one.

A couple weeks ago I was in a meeting with a friend and someone who I greatly admire.  He said something that has stuck with me and I figured I’d make it a resolution to try to stick with this one thought he shared.

You know when you’re talking with someone, whether the conversation is an easy, everyday convo or one of the hard ones and you say everything you meant to say, except that one thing that you wish you could say but you don’t because you don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings or you don’t think it’ll come out right?  Or sometimes we practice what we want to say in our heads before we have that discussion, but it’s always easier to say it in our head than to get it out…  Well, that’s the last 10%.  We say about 90% of what we need to or mean to say, but we leave out that one thing that could really take the conversation or that relationship/friendship to a new level – in a good way most of the time.

So that’s it – say the last 10% in 2010.  And trust me, it’s not going to be easy.  I don’t like confrontation and there have been times I haven’t said something because I wonder what the consequences might be (whether they may be good or bad).  But, in the long run, if we don’t say that last 10% aren’t we only hurting ourselves by keeping it inside and not letting God do the rest after it’s been said?  Saying that last 10% could change a lot of things…for the better.

Leave a Reply

