What Summer Does for a Teacher (or is it just me?)

I’ve been really awful about writing this past school year.  Very inconsistent.  It was a relatively good school year and I have absolutely no complaints to make since I still have a job right now.  But I mean really…  No post since May 24?  Sad.  And that’s not for lack things going on in my life.  There was the craziness of the end of the school year though.  And the last 2 weeks in the mountains.  And hey…there was that 3 year blog-iversary on July 1.  Haha.

I was looking back at some of the things I was writing about 3 years ago and thinking of how far I’d come in some areas.  Namely, praise God, I’ve gotten rid of that ridiculous car Killer and I now have my amazingly awesome Glinda.  I got in such a tizzy with that dumb Subaru and several other things that happened around that time (just take a look at July 2007).  Later that year taught me so much and for a couple of months, I was on track getting deeper and deeper with my faith (see this post first and this one second).  I think I went on a level playing field for a while then.  The next summer (2008) I went through a period where I just needed to be away from what I’d been doing since I started volunteering at Elevation.  I think I knew it too well from a focused perspective and forgot the bigger picture at times.  So, in the summer of 2008 (read why in that post) I moved to Elevation’s Uptown campus and volunteered helping connect people with a community group (known now as an eGroup).  Spring  2008 was tough.  I’d also been having some discontent with myself regarding my volunteering around the same time.  Had I not spoken with a few important people close to me as soon as possible about getting out for a little while, I know I would have talked myself out of it and who knows where that would have led.  I’m so glad I didn’t have to find out.  That decision that summer did a lot for me and has led me to where I am present.  The summer of 2009 was a summer of travel and deepening relationships.

Now I wonder what all the summer of 2010 has in store.  The 3 previous summers have all been times where I have been stretched, had lots of time to reflect on who I am and who I am becoming and the time to make decisions that I don’t know that I would normally spend to much time thinking about during the school year.  Whether that is a good thing or not, I’m not sure yet.  I do know that I’m thankful that God moves in my life all year long, regardless of the season.  It just seems to me, and I’m thankful for this, that during the summer I have a good long period of uninterrupted time to focus on myself and make decisions that I can develop over the time I have and head into the fall a better person (though it is a continual process, of course).

This summer already I’ve been pushed further in one area of my life and I feel reeeeeeally freed by it.  Now I have this other thing in the back of my head…been there a while and now it’s aching to get out.  I think it may be time to find my Rhoda (or Rhodas, I guess I should say).  If you have no clue what that means, check out Len Sweet’s book Eleven.  Time to invest.

So…  Here’s to the summer.  Good time of the year.

Leave a Reply

