The Great Parade and Other Fantastic Tales from Sunday Mornings When I Was a Child

A couple of weeks ago at church, Pastor Steven said something that made me think back to when I was little in church.  Being a pastor’s daughter, I have plenty of memories related to Sunday mornings and church activities.  These are four of my favorites.

Once upon a time this used to be the Bible I used in church.

I was somewhere between kindergarten and second grade.  The church my dad was Pastor at during that time had Sunday school and then service.  One of my best friends at that time (who I still see today) was Renee.  I can distinctly remember sitting with her family on Sunday mornings during the service (or her sitting with my mom, my sisters and me).  She was a year older than me and considering how old we were, some things would just go over our heads.  How would one at this age choose to pass time during the announcements or several moments during the sermon?  We developed a clever little game.  You see, Bibles are pretty cool when it comes to geography and showing you the locations of historical events spoken of in various books.  So, on a Sunday morning we would find ourselves sitting together.  We would open up to the maps in the back.  A map such as this one…

See all the little town names on there?  Well, in this oh so clever game, one of us would look at the map, choose a town and either write it down or whisper it to the other and they would have to find it.  Clearly the object of the game was to see how long it took the other person to find that town and point it out.  Strategy: choose a name that is hard to find.  It kept us quite entertained.  I remember we would both come in “ready”.  haha.  It was quite competitive.

Another memory from around this time has to do with the hymnal, a clearly overwhelming and hard to understand book of songs for a young kid.  I remember Renee and I would basically just stand up and open the hymnal to whatever page and pretend we knew what we were doing and that we were looking at the right page.  haha.

On that note…  Hymns can be very confusing if you don’t know the story behind the song, the part of scripture it is based on or you’re just…a kid.

I’ve heard this story over and over in my family and it’s become a big joke, but boy did I speak truth when I was little even if the wording wasn’t quite right.  There is a hymn entitled “There’s a Great Day Coming” about the day when Christ will return (instrumental version here).  The chorus is as follows: Are you ready?  Are you ready?  Are you ready for the judgment day?  Are you ready?  Are you ready?  Are you ready for that day to come? Little me couldn’t read those words.  My version was much better and sounds a lot more fun, if you ask me.  This is my version:  Are you ready?  Are you ready?  Are you ready for the great parade?  Are you ready?  Are you ready?  Are you ready for the great parade? I mean really, copyright to me, folks.  It will be a great parade – a great, big, glorious and fun day when He returns.  That’s some truth right there.  They say have a child-like faith and that kids have a lot more insight that we give them credit for when it comes to faith.  We’ve got to do what we can to keep a grasp on that as we grow up.

And finally, best for last…  Since dad is a pastor he had board meetings during the week sometimes.  I can’t remember how old I was, but one night in particular, my mom was doing some ironing after she’s put my sisters and I to bed.  I couldn’t sleep for some reason.  Leave it to a pastor’s child to ask questions like I did that night.  I’d call out into the hallway and ask my mom “Why does the devil make people do bad things?”  “Why does the devil do bad things?”   Talk about intense questions for a pastor’s kid to be asking after their bed time while their father is gone at a board meeting.  haha.  I can’t remember all my mom tried to tell me except that she said to wait until dad got home to talk to him.  If I remember right, that was the night I asked Jesus into my heart.

I know there are other things I either can’t remember or haven’t thought of right now, but those are just a couple of things I recall fondly from when I was little.  Good memories…  Hope you’re ready for the great parade.  And you should try out the map game sometime.  Great game for the kids – just help them put that place in context during Sunday school or kids church.  🙂

2 thoughts on “The Great Parade and Other Fantastic Tales from Sunday Mornings When I Was a Child

  1. I LOVE reading what you remember, and, yes, I like your version of the song better – I think it will be a parade and a big party. Grandpa will be in that parade ;0)

Leave a Reply

