2011 Goals – Spiritual & Character

It’s been a busy couple of days and I’ve been pretty much exhausted.  My days are basically 5am to 5pm dealing with school stuff (teaching and then OM practice for about 2 1/2 hours after school) and then by the time I get home I’m exhausted.  But even though it’s busy it’s been good!  Today I had my mid-year conference at school and that went well.  It’s nice having administrators who believe in you, are encouraging and Christians.  Love that about the South.  You’d never catch the staff praying together at a staff meeting or get together in the North.

But anyway…  I’ve been writing about the goals I’ve made for myself this year…  Here’s where we’ve been so far:

And now we’re up to the final four.  I’ll share a couple of my goals with regard to my “spiritual health” and some things I’d like to see develop further when it comes to character.

Spiritual & Character

Spiritual

1. Go on a trip with Bless Back Worldwide.  If not possible, find SOME way to be involved.

I already wrote about this phenomenal organization that one of the men in my church helped found last year after the earthquake in Haiti.  Check it out here. In December they took a bunch of folks from my church along with doctors and nurses to pull off a purity conference for teenagers and provide medical help.  It was wonderful to read about what they were doing through their site and knowing I had several friends who were there.  I am so impressed with the heart they’ve put behind this.  So very impressed.  I would love to try to go with them on a trip in the summer, but if that’s not possible or they don’t have a trip at that time, surely there is some other way I can get involved.  What a way to get your perspective lifted.

2. Find a Bible reading plan based on characters.

Pretty simple.  And by characters I mean focusing on the lives of various individuals – David, Elijah, Ruth, Peter, etc.  I’m definitely one of those people who enjoys biographies and I think it’d be interesting to find a reading plan that would give you scripture references to use to follow the life of someone in the Bible chronologically.  If that exists…

3. Use Devotional Classics for devotional/guide for Winter and Spring 2011.

I had an incredible theology class I took in college called “Foundations of Christian Spirituality”.  Dr. Hall was just amazing. He’s got a great personality and has some great stories from his life (working as a chaplain at an asylum, living in France, etc.).  His classes were very popular.  They actually have the classes posted online as podcasts if you want to check them out.  Trust me, you’ll love them.  Anyway, one of our books we used was Devotional Classics though we only read selected portions.  The writings inside are from great theologians of the past and present like Julian of Norwich, Soren Kierkegaard, John Calvin, Dallas Willard, and Dietrich Bonhoeffer.  I actually went out and bought the book to have as my own and I’d like to use it as a launching point for this year.  It’s great.  Highly recommend.

Character

1. Bless back once a month.

A couple of years ago at church we did something called “The Bless Back Project” and they did not take up an offering.  Instead everyone was to take an envelope (with amounts of money from $5 to $1000 inside) and use it to bless someone other than themselves that week.  What a revolutionary idea.  It was huge and if you couldn’t tell, likely inspired Bless Back Worldwide.  I love the thought because we can all be generous no matter what we think we have or don’t have.  I want to become more intentional in blessing others and not necessarily just those who I know or am related to.  Maybe one month I’ll pay for someone’s gas.  Maybe I’ll buy the food of the person behind me at the drive-thru one day.  Who knows.  I just want to do it.

2. Who are my Eleven?

That question is based on a book by Len Sweet called Eleven: Indispensable Relationships You Can’t Be Without.  It’s about identifying those people in your life who you allow to speak into your life and they’re based off of people in the Bible.   For example…

  • Who is your Jonathan?/You need a true friend.
  • Who is your Peter/Paul?/You need a yoda.
  • Who is your Zaccheus?/You need a reject.
  • Who is your Jethro?/You need a butt-kicker.

It’s good stuff.  I’d like to identify those people in my life because they can really call you out and call you up when it comes to your character.

And now we’re down to 2.  Family and Friends and that’s for another day, amigos.

One thought on “2011 Goals – Spiritual & Character

  1. It is good that you always include God as part of your goal because without God in your life you cannot accomplish this goal on your own. Seek Him first and all things will be given to you, things that you really deserve.

Leave a Reply

