It’s Not Christmas Without…

I absolutely LOVE this time of year.  Christmas is my favorite.  I’ve even had the chance to recite the Code of the Elf several times over this month because of our kids series at church.  It’s pretty awesome…

I love traditions and I love music.  I looooove Christmas music.  I was just talking with someone yesterday about how much I enjoyed caroling with people from church when I was younger and that I have a lot of fun Christmas memories attached to certain Christmas songs, albums, etc.  I was trying to think of what cds I absolutely HAVE to have or listen to for it to really FEEL like Christmas and the following are what came to mind.

Some of these are old school but SO awesome.  It’s just not Christmas without…

Image

One of the best Christmas albums EVER.  Check out this crazy video of Smitty singing “Gloria” at the White House Christmas in 1989.  The hair and the jacket.  Wow.

Image

I know.  Who the heck are these guys, right?  Such old school CCM but I love this album.  I remember listening to the cassette tape in the car while caroling.  And the rendition of “White Christmas” is so awesome.  Check it out here.  I also love their version of “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”.

Image

I think this was Amy Grant’s second Christmas cd but it’s my favorite.

Image

My parents used to have a record player (yes, RECORD) and they would move one of the huge speakers into the hallway and play this as my sisters and I went to sleep in December.  Good times.

Image

It is just NOT Christmas until I hear Bing Crosby’s voice.  Or until I’ve watched “White Christmas” (which I will do tonight).

And your favorite Christmas music?

Pics from:

blog.villines.com, kristifuoco.blogspot.com, florencegyvinnie.blogspot.com, amazon.com, rwtyer.blogspot.com

One thought on “It’s Not Christmas Without…

  1. Julie Boyd says:

    Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band, Santa Clause Is Coming To Town. Clarence Clemmon’s joyous HoHoHo’s are just the BEST!!!

Leave a Reply

