Keeping Up With the Joneses

Image

Y’all, I don’t know where the last 2 months have gone.  If you’ve seen December or January you can tell them it’s ok to slow down and take time to smell the roses (though…it is the middle of winter so, smell the hot cocoa?).

I had a great Christmas with my family in South Carolina.  My sister took an epic journey that went from New Hampshire to Florida with her boyfriend.  My grandmother came up.  My aunt came down.  My youngest sister flew to New Hampshire to meet up with her best friend, drove back down to SC and they moved into a house.  We had an big family photo shoot with a pretty great photographer.  We played lots of games and ate lots of food.  It was a great time.  A LOT happened in just over a week!

Now here we are in January.  Goals and plans had been forming in my mind because…that’s just what you do at the end of one year and beginning of the next.  I knew it was going to e a busy couple of months to start 2013 and I wanted to be reasonable.  I’ve got an Odyssey of the Mind team I’m coaching (while coordinating for the school and aiding another team), OM competition just a month away, mentor stuff to keep up with, staff development I’m involved with that’s coming up, some volunteer roles that need to be filled in the coming months in eKidz, new grading period starting…  Just lots going on.

I started thinking through what I could “do” for a resolution and thanks to a series at church plus reflecting a bit on things I enjoy, want to do and feel led to do, I scaled back a bit.  It’s not about keeping up with the Joneses.  It’s not about comparing my behind the scenes to someone else’s highlight reel (thanks, NROR!).  I’m not the Joneses and I’m not the star of someone else’s life.  I have my own calling, vision, life to see through.

So what am I planning on doing as of right now?

1. Reading MORE.  Why?  Because I want to, not because I have to.  I read 2 books over break and I’ve already gone through 3 or 4 since the beginning of this month.  I LOVE reading.  Always have.  I am just always exhausted and fall asleep while reading.  I got a Nook last year for Christmas and I’m definitely going to be using it more.  I’ve already got a few more books on there that I bought and I’m hoping that will be motivation to keep it up.  It could become an expensive habit…but I like that escape.

2. Big loan payment.  Thanks to a gracious gift from my grandmother I’ll be making a big payment on my student loans in February.  It might be even a bit bigger if I get my taxes done before the loan payment is due next month.

3. 1000 Gifts.  My mom mentioned the book 1000 Gifts to me and the app for the iPhone.  Essentially it allows you to take pictures of things you are thankful and grateful for.  Over the course of the year I’ve got a goal of getting 1000 gifts on there.  A gift can be something tangible but not necessarily.  I think this will be a great way to remind myself to be thankful and appreciate everything in my life – not just the big things but also noticing the smaller gifts in my life.

Those are some pretty basic things but I think they can have a great impact for me and in my daily life.  They’re simple, easy to do and are something I can do on a regular basis to help keep it routine.  I might not say that I have to have a certain number of “gifts” on the app by a certain date or read a particular number of books a month but I know my intent.  Now that I write that, maybe these are my 2013 Intentions.  Sounds a bit like Jess Lively – a life with intention is her whole spiel.  Check her out!

What are your goals?  Plans?  Intentions for 2013?

Leave a Reply

